Same Flower?

We are all essentially made the same. We come into this world not choosing our gender, our skin tone, our hair color, not even our family. Nevertheless we are all beautiful.    Could you imagine if we all looked the same and acted the same. Using this one flower stamp in several ways made me think, no remember, find that beauty in everyone. It’s there, you may need to weed out the bad but deep down inside the beauty is within.

I have had this flower stamp for years. I don’t know if I have ever used it. I wanted a flower stamp that I could try some different techniques. I did not want the stamp to be to big or too detailed that it would consume a lot of time. I wanted something that I could compare the differences . When I started I really had no intention of using these scraps, I just wanted to “play”. I stamped and created all the flowers first then I decided to turn them into cards.

I started with a scrap sheet of paper. I stamped  the flowers in memento tuxedo black ink. I grabbed my Copics  Y 11,15, YG 3,6,9 because I only have limited Copics I grabbed my Bic markers to add more color. When I was done I felt I needed a bit more shading so I grabbed my water-color pencils and I think even my Peerless water colors too. I liked my flower but I wanted to add some highlight (this I feel was my mistake) I added Rangers Perfect Pearls .  After I did that I did not like the flowers as much BUT…. I cut it into an oval with my Spellbinders and added some Summer Sky with my sponge applicator (it is starting to grow on me again). Then I added a scalloped oval out of some black paper to help that yellow pop. Then I was stuck, what to do next. I walked away. Came back and I grabbed my script stamp by Impression Obsession and some Antique Linen Distress ink and created the background. I then used some Creative Memories polka-dotted paper and backed it in black. I added a pre-made bow from Wal-Marts fabric/ribbon center and WOW I love it. I left the inside blank for now.

Copic Flowers-Y

Using that same sheet of paper I stamped the same flower with Memento Dessert Sand. I didn’t want the flower to have the “stamped look”. I wanted to give the illusion that the flowers were real or had been drawn (which my daughter thought I had). I used my Copics  R 81,83,85,89 and again I used the YG ‘s as well. This time I used Spellbinders square die cut and sponged the blue and a green. I backed this with SU Old Olive paper, added a sheer ribbon and then stamped the sentiment onto the base of the card. I still need work blending my Copics but I love this card.

Copic Flowers-R

So this time I used water-color paper. I stamped the flowers in Versa Mark and clear embossed. I used my Peerless water colors and a water brush to add color. I did my flowers first and let them dry. So my big mistake here, for some reason I thought the Peerless watercolor, once it was dry it was permanent NOPE. I was adding blue to the sky and my flowers were turning green aaahhhhh.  I do love the vibrancy of the Peerless versus just my watercolor pencils. After reapplying Peerless to my flowers I used Distress ink Peacock Feathers and I think Peeled Paint. After I finished I looked at it and it looked like a watercolor piece of art you might find in a gallery. I had just got this new Spellbinders die, Captivating Squares, it looked like a frame. So I grabbed some gold metallic paper by DCWV and framed my art. I left the inside blank for now.

Water Color

There is beauty in everything and everyone we just have to find it.☺

Leave a Reply

